Our Leadership

Rabbi Scott B. Roland

Rabbi Scott B. Roland has served as Rabbi of Congregation Shaarey Tikvah since July of 2016. He was ordained in   2013 by the Rabbinical School of Hebrew College in Newton, MA. Prior to and during rabbinical school, Rabbi Roland honed his skills as a Jewish educator and youth professional. He earned his BA from Rutgers University in New Brunswick, NJ.

Rabbi Roland is most passionate about Jewish pluralism and education. He strives to pass along a model of Jewish life that is alive, relevant, and walks the line between challenging and building confidence. Rabbi Roland strives to be an exemplar of Jewish life that is passionate and enthusiastic. He hopes to encourage living a Jewish life that is rooted just as much in one’s heart and soul as in our sacred rites and traditions.

Rabbi Roland was raised in a rural area of Northwest New Jersey. He is married to Aviva and together they are the proud parents of Tikvah (their puppy), Moriyah and Nili. As a serial hobbyist, when not in shul he is busying himself with a number of activities including birding, photography, reading, and writing.               rabbi@shaareytikvah.org


Gary Paller, Cantor Emeritus (retired December 2017)

Cantor Gary Paller began his cantorial career with our congregation, known then as Mayfield Hillcrest Synagogue, more than 30 years ago. After a hiatus, he returned to Congregation Shaarey Tikvah in October 1999 as our first full-time cantor. Cantor Gary studied at the Jewish Theological Seminary in New York and Jerusalem and majored in music and vocal performance at Cleveland State University. He had also led morning Shabbat services at Park Synagogue. He performs regularly at senior citizens centers and has sung at Cantor’s Concerts, the Workmen's Circle Yiddish Vinkl, and the JCC Third Seder.

Cantor Gary understood that music is an integral part of Jewish worship. From the pulpit, he was able to share his love of Jewish music and encourage the community to participate fully in a unique and inclusive davening experience. He was also available to help those in our community who wished to lead services, chant Haftorah or Torah, or just wanted to better follow the service.

Shaarey Tikvah is a congregation that loves to sing. The vibrant chorus of voices on Shabbat morning added strength to Cantor Gary’s prayers. We welcome your voice to our community of faith as we go from strength to strength!        gdpal@sbcglobal.net

Martha Sivertson, Executive Director

Martha Sivertson joined our kehillah in September 2013 after spending eight years creating the volunteer program and managing the Museum Store at the Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage. A New Jersey native, Martha moved to San Francisco for a graduate program in art history, then Boston, Georgia, and Maine before being recruited to run the retail operation at the Cleveland Museum of Art. A huge baseball fan (Mets, Giants, Red Sox), she quickly adopted the Tribe but you will often catch her and her husband at minor league and professional games alike throughout the Northeast where they dragged their two beautiful daughters summer after summer. Martha earned her Master in Nonprofit Organizations (MNO) from the Mandel Center at Case Western Reserve University in 2006 and her Certified Volunteer Administrator (CVA) in 2007. martha@shaareytikvah.org


Louise Freilich, Face to Face Director

Louise Freilich is the director of Face to Face, Shaarey Tikvah's Holocaust  Education Program. She holds a Master in City Planning degree from M.I.T and has been interested in the Holocaust for many years. Before becoming director of the program in 2003, she was a Face to Face docent for four years.She served a four-year term on the Ohio Council on Holocaust & Genocide Education and believes that there is a crucial need to learn about the Holocaust and to understand its current lessons.  face2face@shaareytikvah.org


Roz Stone, Administrative Coordinator

Roz Stone has been our congregation's Administrative Coordinator (aka Office Manager) for the past eight years and enjoys being the official greeter and jack-of-all-trades. She taught Sunday School at Shaarey Tikvah from 1983-1992, and served as Education Director from 1992-2001. Roz was 'born and raised’ at the synagogue (then called Mayfield Temple) and served on its Board of Trustees before becoming an employee.       roz@shaareytikvah.org



Frank George, Maintenance Manger

Frank, a native of McGraws, West Virginia, started with Shaarey Tikvah in August 1998. Frank keeps the lights on and our very busy building operating smoothly. Frank assists with setup and cleanup for synagogue events,  ongoing maintenance and repair of our property, and provides a charming dash of dry humor to the job! Frank may be best known for his t-shirts -- his favorites are: “Official Kosher Taster” and “Don’t Worry” on the front with “Frank’ll do it” on the back. In the summer months, you can find Frank outside on the riding mower and in the winter months, you can find him shoveling our walkways. He is an integral part of our synagogue community and is quick to go the extra mile to help our congregants.

Jeff Epstein, Board President

An extraordinary group of members who bring a wealth of experience in law, business, education, social services, real estate, management, strategic planning, fundraising, and Jewish life to their work, the Shaarey Tikvah Board of Trustees meets monthly to set the overall strategic direction for the organization. Board members serve a 2-year term, unless they are presidential appointment, in which case they serve a 1-year term. The Executive Committee also meets monthly; two past presidents, selected by the Board president each year, are key members of the Executive Committee to provide organizational history, consistent direction, and breadth of experience to the Committee.

Executive Committee
President Jeff Epstein
Executive VP Josh Gordon
VP Ethan Karp
VP Alyson Fieldman
Secretary Jessi Shapiro
Assistant Secretary Isaac Kiersten
Treasurer Jeff Cohen
Assistant Treasurer Deborah Coleman
Immediate Past President Rick Kodish
Past Presidents     Marvin Engelberg
  Stuart Sharpe
  David Hutt
  David Leavitt
  Sharon Fagin


Roberta Karsh Kaplan

Amy Einhorn

Leslie Sobel

Board Members
  Gussie Singer
  Mark Fixler
  Harold Greenberg
  Jamie Stadlin
  Rachel Lappen
  Martin Kohn
  Ted Aron

Ruth Hatchuel

By president’s appointment Phil Rosenberg
By president’s appointment Irit Rawraway
Men's Club Representative                                                Richard Friedman
Sisterhood Representative Shirley Edelman
Ex-Officio Members  
 Rabbi Scott B. Roland
Executve Director Martha Sivertson